CLOUD ATLAS

CLOUD ATLAS

A NOVEL

DAVID STEPHEN MITCHELL

$ 105,000.00
Editorial:
VINTAGE
Año de edición:
2004
Materia
Literatura universal
ISBN:
978-0-375-50725-0
Páginas:
509
Idioma:
Inglés
Cubierta:
Tapa Blanda

Disponibilidad:

  • Av.ChileAgotado
  • ZonaGEn stock
$ 105,000.00
Añadir a favoritos

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks - Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. u003cpu003eAs wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, u003ciu003eCloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for Cloud Atlas "[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page." The New York Times Book Review "One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is--and should be--read by any student of contemporary literature." --Dave Eggers "Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative." -- "The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet--not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds." --Michael Chabon Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent." The Washington Post Book World "Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step." Boston Sunday Globe "Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."--Los Angeles Times

Artículos relacionados

  • LOS REYES DE LA CASA
    VIGAN, DELPHINE DE
    Mélanie Claux y Clara Roussel. Dos mujeres conectadas a través de una niña. Mélanie ha participado en un reality show televisivo y es seguidora de sus sucesivas ediciones. Cuando se convierte en madre de un niño y una niña, Sammy y Kimmy, empieza a grabar su día a día y cuelga los vídeos en YouTube. Crecen en visitas y seguidores, llegan los patrocinadores, Mélanie crea su prop...
    En stock

    $ 109,900.00

  • DIARIOS. A RATOS PERDIDOS 3 Y 4
    CHIRBES, RAFAEL
    Segundo volumen de los Diarios de Rafael Chirbes, que reúne diversos cuadernos escritos entre 2005 y 2007. Son los años de la lenta gestación, llena de dudas que lo llevan incluso a plantearse abandonar la literatura, de la novela que le supondría la consagración definitiva: Crematorio.Son también años de incertidumbres personales: del abandono definitivo de su trabajo en la re...
    En stock

    $ 149,900.00

  • EL OTRO LADO
    ENRÍQUEZ, MARIANA / GUERRIERO, LEILA
    Este volumen reúne la obra periodística de Mariana Enriquez. Propulsada por su potente estilo, escribe sobre algunos de sus ídolos y fetiches en ámbitos como la literatura y la música, además de abordar también aspectos de su propia vida. Encontramos en estas páginas desde una entrevista delirante con el legendario Charly García hasta un texto sobre la fijación de los viandante...
    En stock

    $ 129,900.00

  • LOS VAGABUNDOS DEL DHARMA (BIBLIOTECA KEROUAC)
    KEROUAC, JACK
    Una de las obras capitales de Jack Kerouac, el escritor paradigmático de la Generación Beat. Ambientada en California, expone su descubrimiento del budismo y su primera ley, «la vida es sufrimiento», durante la época en que se sentía un fracasado al no encontrar editor para sus libros.Pero además de un modo filosófico de encarar el fracaso y de la búsqueda del auténtico signifi...
    En stock

    $ 69,900.00

  • EN EL CAMINO (BIBLIOTECA KEROUAC)
    KEROUAC, JACK
    En el camino, un libro que fue la biblia y el manifiesto de la Generación Beat, se ha convertido en una novela de culto y en un clásico de la literatura norteamericana.Con un inconfundible estilo bop, que consiguió para Kerouac el título de heredero de Charlie Parker, en esta novela se narran los viajes enloquecidos, a bordo de Cadillacs prestados y Dodges desvencijados, de Dea...
    En stock

    $ 74,900.00

  • EL LIBRO DE LAS CASAS
    BAJANI, ANDREA
    La historia de un hombre a través de las casas en las que ha vivido. Un personaje del que no llegamos a saber el nombre –es simplemente Yo–, pero sí todos los detalles de su vida. Que se va reconstruyendo en una sucesión de fragmentos: la compleja relación con su violento padre, la presencia de la madre atemorizada, la tortuga que vive en el patio, la emigración de la familia a...
    En stock

    $ 94,900.00